Earth's Yellow Sun is an instrumental progressive metal band hailing from Toronto, Canada with an innovative and unique approach to modern progressive music. Their most recent release is a fun music video for their cover of “Entertain Me”, a song originally by Armenian jazz pianist Tigran Hamasyan. The band’s sophomore original release, The Infernal Machine, is a concept record that tells the story of a futuristic society’s dependence on technology, and the ensuing conflict between human and machine. The creation of this EP pushed EYS into more experimental territory, incorporating unconventional instrumentation such as horns, violin, choir, and tabla into their sound. The Infernal Machine was released in the summer of 2015, and the band has been impressing audiences with their live show ever since.

Earth's Yellow Sun was co-founded by guitarist Josh Hanff and drummer Julien Bigras while attending Humber College’s music program. After recruiting bassist Duncan Stan, the trio wrote and recorded their debut EP ”Prologue” over the 2013-2014 school year, while simultaneously running the “Humber Progressive Ensemble”. This student-led ensemble was the first of its kind at Humber College, and with the addition of second guitar, keyboards, and a trio of saxophones, the ensemble played music by bands such as Animals as Leaders and Tesseract, as well as original compositions. This was where the band first toyed with the idea of using a three-piece saxophone section in a progressive metal context. After refining the concept through the writing/recording process for The Infernal Machine, the band rearranged the Prologue material to include horn parts, and recruited the EYS sax section.

The band’s lineup consists of
Josh Hanff on guitar, Duncan Stan on bass, Julien Bigras on drums, Giovanni Campanelli on keyboards, with Murray Heaton, and Brian Dhari as the sax section. Since their live debut in late 2015, Earth’s Yellow Sun has been fortunate enough to share the stage with some notable acts, including: Between the Buried and Me, Protest the Hero, Intervals, Intronaut, Thank You Scientist, Plini, Auras, and Moon Tooth. In 2017, Earth’s Yellow Sun recorded a trio of cover songs, and over the course of 2018, they will be releasing an accompanying music video for each one. The first of the three was a cover of Rush’s “Overture 2112/The Temples of Syrinx”, featuring Rody Walker of Protest the Hero as a guest vocalist. Earth’s Yellow Sun is also currently writing new material which will appear on the next record in late 2018 or early 2019.

Splendid Articles:

[WATCH] Earth's Yellow Sun - Entertain Me

"Infernal Machine" by Earth's Yellow Sun

Location:  Toronto, ON, Canada

  • Bandcamp - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle

Hey! Check it out! You may hit ▶ below the album cover to hear music, of course, but then click "Back to 'Sounds'" at the bottom of the page and you can continue searching the website whilst the music plays on -- Woah!!


  • Bandcamp - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • SoundCloud - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle

© 20/20 Splendid Industries

| Toronto, Canada |

Hey! How about signing up for our mailing list, why not?